| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Work with all your cloud files (Drive, Dropbox, and Slack and Gmail attachments) and documents (Google Docs, Sheets, and Notion) in one place. Try Dokkio (from the makers of PBworks) for free. Now available on the web, Mac, Windows, and as a Chrome extension!

View
 

Schedule of Readings and Assignment Deadlines

Page history last edited by Cyrus Mulready 7 years, 7 months ago

 

**Note: The Abbreviation "NA" Refers to Page Numbers in your Norton Anthology of English Literature, 9th Edition**

 

Unit 1: Foundations—Anglo-Saxon Culture and the (Surprising) Origins of “English” Literature

 

Week 1:

Tues. Jan. 21—Introductions; What is "English Literature I"?

 

Wed. Jan 22— Lit Lab—Critical Reading (Make sure you bring your Norton Anthologies; we will use them today)

 

Fri. Jan. 24— Beowulf to line 660  (NA 55) (Follow link for a copy of Beowulf reading for today and Next Tues..)

 

Week 2:

Tues. Jan. 28—Beowulf to line 1250 (NA 69)

 

Wed. Jan. 29—Lit Lab.: Literature and History Timelines (continue reading/commonplacing Beowulf, at least up to up to line 1962 (NA 83) to stay on track for next week’s reading). *Bring Your MLA Handbooks to class--we'll be using them today* 

 

Fri. Jan. 31— Finish Beowulf (link takes you to a copy of the reading, from line 1250 to the end of the text)

 

Week 3:

Tues. Feb. 4—Final Discussion of Beowulf 

Commonplace Book (Assignment #1) Due

 

Wed. Feb. 5Class Canceled Due to Snow Timeline Entries Due (Please Post by Class Time); 

 

Unit 2: Visions of Court and Community in Early English Literature

 

Fri. Feb. 6— Lit Lab on the Periods of English Literature and History (Please bring a copy of your Timeline Entry to Class)

 

Marie de France,  “Bisclavret” (The Werewolf) (not in your Norton Anthology--follow the link for the story) and “Lanval” (NA 154-167)  (Reading Canceled)

 

Week 4:

Tues. Feb. 11—Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Part I

 

Wed. Feb. 12—Lit. Lab: Lost in Translation? Read Sir Gawain, Part II

 

Fri. Feb. 14—Class Canceled Due to Snow

 

Week 5:

Tues. Feb. 18—Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Parts III and IV

 

Wed. Feb. 19—Listen to Chaucer Reading Online; In-Class Exercise on reading Chaucer’s Middle English

 

Fri. Feb. 21—Timeline Quiz

 

Week 6:

Tues. Feb. 25—Chaucer, The Wife of Bath’s Tale, pages 289-309  (be sure to use the version linked here, it's different from that in your Norton) (Assignments for in-class Reading!)

 

Wed. Feb. 26—Introduction of Wikipedia Project; Library Session on Collecting Resources for Wikipedia project; Read MLA Handbook, sections 1.1, 1.2, 1.4 (all sections), and 1.6 (all sections)  Class meets in library--Rm. M42

 

Editing Project Due (Assignment Option #1)

 

Unit 3: Poetry, the Definition of Civilization?

  

Fri. Feb. 28—1) Shakespeare, Sonnet 55 (NA 1176)

2) Robert Herrick, “To the Virgins, to Make Much of Time.” (NA 1762)

3) Andrew Marvell, “To His Coy Mistress” (NA 1796) 

4) “Literary Terminology”

 

Week 7:

Tues. March 4—1) Wyatt (“Whoso list…”), Petrarch, Rima 190 (both on NA 649); From Spenser’s Amoretti: Sonnet 67 (NA 988)

2) Wyatt, “My Galley” (NA 651) and Petrarch Rima 189 (NA 652); Spenser, Amoretti Sonnet 34 (NA 987)

 

Wed. March 5—Lit. Lab: Meter and Scansion

 

Fri. March 7—Poetics Quiz

 

Week 8:

Tues. March 11—Titus Andronicus, Act I

 

Wed. March 12—Collaborative Work Time for Wikipedia Projects (students will meet with groups during class time) 

 

Fri. March 14—Wikipedia Presentations and Portfolios (Group Project #1) Due

 

SPRING BREAK (MARCH 17-20)

 

Week 9:

Tues. March 25—Titus Andronicus, Acts II and III Lit. Lab: Close and Distant Readings

 

Wed. March 26—Finish Titus Andronicus (Acts IV-V) and watch Julie Taymor, Titus (film adaptation of Shakespeare's Play); Film on Reserve in the Library: Please view at least once before class. 

 

Unit 4: Reformation and Rebellion

 

Fri. March 28—

 

Week 10:

Tues. April 1—The Pardoner’s Prologue, pages 512-523 (Note: This is different from the reading in the Norton Anthology; Please Print out and bring to class) and the Pardoner’s Tale, pages 523-549 (continued in the linked reading above);

  

Wed. April 2—For Class: watch Secrets of the Dead: Battle for the Bible (Follow Link to Watch the Video Online); Lit. Lab: Saints and Martyrs in John Foxe's Acts and Monuments

 

Fri. April 4—Spenser, “A Letter of the Author’s” (NA 716-719); The Faerie Queene, Book I, Canto 1 

 

Annotation Assignment (Assignment Option #2) Due

 

Week 11:

Tues. April 8—The Faerie Queene, Book I, Cantos 2 and 3

 

Wed. April 9—The Faerie Queene, Book I, Cantos 4 and 5

 

Fri. April 11—Read this essay and complete the questions in the Model Essay Assignment. Please e-mail your responses to Prof. Mulready by 12:00 noon on Friday. You may do this work individually or complete it with a group of no more than four students. If you work in a group, please submit a single document (with each member's name) with a summary of your group's responses. 

 

Week 12:

Tues. April 15—NO CLASS (PASSOVER)

Wed. April 16—The Faerie Queene, Book I, Cantos 6 and 7

Fri. April 18—The Faerie Queene, Book I, Cantos 8 and 9

 

Week 13:

Tues. April 22—The Faerie Queene, Book I, Cantos 10 and 11

 

Wed. April 23—The Faerie Queene, Book I, Canto 12 (Final Review Discussion)

 

Close and Distant Reading (Assignment Option #3) Due

 

Fri. April 25—John Milton, Paradise Lost, Book 1 (In Hell) (NA 1831-1850) (Follow this link to download a program that contains an audio version of Books 1 and 9) 

 

Week 14:

Tues. April 29—Paradise Lost, Book 3, lines 1-343 (God and the Son hatch a plan)

 

Wed. April 30—Paradise Lost, Book 9, lines 1-732 (Temptation)  

 

Fri. May 1—Paradise Lost, Book 9, lines 733-1189 (Fall), Book 12, lines 624-49 (Expulsion) 

 

Week 14:

Tues. May 6—Last Day of Class--Peer Review of Portfolio Assignment

 

Final Exam: Tuesday, May 13th, 10:15-12:15

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.